MedPayRx Logo

PRESS RELEASE

February 7, 2019

MedPayRx Makes Top 20 List of German Ministry of Health Blockchain “Ideas” Contest

Frankfurt, Germany: MedPayRx is pleased and honoured to announce that the company has been selected as a top 20 finalist in the German Ministry of Healthblockchain ideas” competition. The Ministry is looking for best-in-class and innovative use cases for blockchain technology in the German healthcare system. Germany, along with other countries across the continent (including the UK and Luxembourg) are moving forward in embracing digitalization procedures, engineering and technology in healthcare and other critical government functions. Jens Spahn, the current German Minister of Health, has also announced that this transformation is not only mission critical to the efficient future functioning of his department but also in preserving the comprehensiveness if not cost effectiveness  of one of the most inclusive healthcare systems in the world.

The MedPayRx team will head to Berlin on 27 February to pitch in the finals. Ideas and teams are being evaluated by an independent panel of experts who are looking for technology relevance, added value, viability, interoperability and (data) security.

MedPayRx is a German start-up that combines and automates the prescription, claims and payment authorization process for both prescription medications and medical equipment. It is one of the first blockchain business models to successfully be tested under the rigours of a German accredited graduate business school (it was born as a formal EMBA business plan thesis at the Frankfurt School of Finance and Management.) It is also the first start-up of its kind to be accepted at a German government and insurance industry backed incubator (Werk1 in Munich, summer 2018).

MedPayRx has also been recognized in both Frankfurt and London at high tech start-up contests as being both “innovative” and “highly disruptive,” and placing as audience favourites.

MedPayRx is unique in several ways: First it reinvisions, reinvents and reengineers the prescription,  insurance claims and payment process to make the entire process more cost and energy efficient and paper free. Second, it is a platform built to be compliant with all the regulations that apply in this space, from accessibility and banking to insurance and privacy law, including the new European standards set by GDPR. Third, it is a unique use case for blockchain as a technology in both form and function. The platform does not use blockchain monetized by cryptocurrency in any way but rather uses the technology as a decentralized communications and automation protocol between highly disparate ecosystem partners and stakeholders.

MedPayRx will be releasing it’s first Proof of Concept (POC) wallets by the end of March (Q1, 2019). The company is currently working with InsurLab Germany to position the start-up within the digital hub network in Cologne if not Germany and Europe beyond that and will also apply for the next accelerator program at InsurLab. MedPayRx has also been part of the Deutsche Telekom “Boost” program for innovative German startups since Q3, 2018.

The company recently held its first “pilot to market” stakeholder workshop in Cologne. Conducted on January 25 on the InsurLab Germany campus, the event drew experts from all the ecosystem silos that the platform is intended to work for and with. This included patients, doctors, members of the insurance community, policy experts, government representatives, distributors, producers and pharmacies.

####

For more information, please contact Marguerite Arnold at margueritearnold@medpayrx.de or Martin Weller at martinweller@medpayrx.de

MedPayRx Logo

Frankfurt, Deutschland:  MedPayRx ist geehrt bekannt zu geben, dass das Unternehmen unter den Top 20 derFinalisten im Wettbewerb “blockchain ideas” des Bundesgesundheitsministeriums gewählt wurde. Das Ministerium sucht nach Best-in-Class und innovativen Anwendungsfällen für die Blockchain-Technologie im deutschen Gesundheitswesen. Deutschland und andere Länder auf unserem Kontinent machen Fortschritte bei der Einführung von Digitalisierungsverfahren, Technik und Technologie im Gesundheitswesen und anderen kritischen Regierungsfunktionen. Jens Spahn, der amtierende Bundesgesundheitsminister, hat ebenfalls angekündigt, dass diese Transformation nicht nur für das effiziente zukünftige Funktionieren seiner Abteilung von entscheidender Bedeutung ist, sondern auch für die Erhaltung der Wirtschaftlichkeit eines der umfassendsten Gesundheitssysteme der Welt.

Das MedPayRx-Team wird am 27. Februar nach Berlin reisen, um im Finale zu stehen. Das Team und deren Ideen werden von einem unabhängigen Expertengremium bewertet, das nach Technologierelevanz, Mehrwert, Durchführbarkeit, Interoperabilität und (Daten-) Sicherheit sucht.

MedPayRx ist ein deutsches Start-up-Unternehmen, das den Prozess der Verschreibung, Zahlungsgenehmigung, Zahlung und Erstattung für verschreibungspflichtige Medikamente und medizinische Geräte kombiniert und automatisiert. Es ist eines der ersten Blockchain-Geschäftsmodelle, das erfolgreich unter den Bedingungen einer in Deutschland akkreditierten Graduate Business School getestet wurde (es wurde als formale EMBA- Businessplanarbeit an der Frankfurt School of Finance and Management geboren.). Es ist auch das erste Start- up seiner Art, das in einem von der deutschen Regierung und der Versicherungswirtschaft unterstützten Inkubator (Werk1 in München, Sommer 2018) akzeptiert wurde.

MedPayRx wurde auch in Frankfurt und London bei High-Tech-Start-Up-Wettbewerben als “innovativ” und “höchst disruptiv” anerkannt sowie als Publikumsliebling gewählt.

MedPayRx ist in mehrfacher Hinsicht einzigartig. Sie überarbeitet den Rezept-, Genehmigungs- und Zahlungsprozess, um den gesamten Prozess kosten- und energieeffizienter und papierlos zu gestalten. Des Weiteren ist es eine Plattform, die so konzipiert wurde, dass sie allen in diesem Bereich geltenden Vorschriften entspricht, von der Zugänglichkeit über das Bankwesen bis hin zum Versicherungs- und Datenschutzrecht, einschließlich der neuen europäischen Normen des GDPR. Zusätzlich ist es ein einzigartiger Anwendungsfall für Blockchain als Technologie in Form und Funktion. Die Plattform verwendet keine Blockchain, die in irgendeiner Weise durch Kryptowährung monetarisiert wird, sondern nutzt die Technologie als dezentrales Kommunikations- und Automatisierungsprotokoll zwischen sehr unterschiedlichen Ökosystempartnern und Interessengruppen.

MedPayRx wird seinen ersten Proof of Concept (POC) bis Ende März (Q1, 2019) veröffentlichen. Das Unternehmen arbeitet derzeit mit InsurLab Germany zusammen, um das Start-up im digitalen Hub-Netzwerk in Köln und ganz Deutschland und Europa zu positionieren und wird sich auch für das nächste Start-up

Beschleunigerprogramm bei InsurLab bewerben. Seit Q3, 2018 ist MedPayRx auch Teil des “Boost”-Programms für innovative deutsche Start-ups der Deutschen Telekom.

Vor kurzem veranstaltete das Unternehmen in Köln seinen ersten “Pilot to Market” Workshop für Stakeholder.

Die am 25. Januar auf dem Campus von InsurLab Germany durchgeführte Veranstaltung zog Experten aus allen Ökosystemsilos an, für und mit denen die Plattform arbeiten soll. Dazu gehörte Regierungsvertreter,Versichrungsgesellschaften,Produzenten,Ärzte, Apotheker, Händler und Patienten

####

Für weitere Informationen kontaktieren Sie bitte Marguerite Arnold unter margueritearnold@medpayrx.de oder Martin Weller unter martinweller@medpayrx.de